MINUTES

The regular meeting of the Board of Education, Miller School District #29-4 was held on Monday, May 11, 2020, in the Elementary School Library. The meeting was called to order at 6:31 p.m. by Natalie Bertsch, President of the Board. Other members in attendance were Bryan Breitling, Amy Howard, Jonathan Hurd, Connie Schroeder, and Tara Yost. Absent was Rob Mullaney. Also in attendance were Dan Trefz, Superintendent, Steve Schumacher, Jr./Sr. High School Principal, Knute Reierson, Elementary Principal, and Sara Gates, Business Manager.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Breitling to approve the board agenda. All voting aye.

Motion by Howard, second by Hurd to approve Consent Agenda Items.

- 1. Minutes of the April 13, 2020 Regular Meeting and April 29, May 4, and May 6, 2020 Special Board Meetings
- 2. Financial Report
- 3. Payment of presented bills

All voting aye.

Knute Reierson, Elementary Principal, reported on McGraw Hill Math curriculum, Reading Plus, and upcoming Kindergarten screening.

Steve Schumacher, Jr./Sr. High School Principal, thanked Mrs. Fiala for her involvement in the Athletic Banquet and Music Awards videos on the school website. He reported on the upcoming Graduation, next year's class schedule, and weighting of grades.

Dan Trefz, Superintendent, opened the floor for questions.

Opening of contracted food service bid.

Motion by Howard, second by Yost to accept the proposal from Taher to contract food service to the Miller School District for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Discussion of SDHSAA ballots.

Motion by Breitling, second by Hurd to vote yes on SDHSAA Amendment No. 1. All voting aye.

Motion by Howard, second by Breitling to vote for Marty Weismantel as SDHSAA Small School Group Board of Education Representative for the term of 7/1/2020-6/30/2025. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Yost to vote for Michael Talley as SDHSAA Division 1 Representative for the term of 7/1/2020-6/30/2025. All voting aye.

Motion by Breitling, second by Schroeder to vote for Dr. Kelly Glodt as SDHSAA East River At-Large Representative for the term of 7/1/2020-6/30/2025. All voting aye.

Regular Meeting May 11, 2020 Page 2

Motion by Hurd, second by Breitling to approve the open enrollment application FY2020-2021-01 for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Proposed budget for school year 2020-2021 was presented.

Motion by Yost, second by Hurd to approve the use of the armory and the elementary gym for summer sports and instrumental camps (May 22-Aug 16, 2020) as directed by Miller School District coaches and to waive the fees for this use, if allowable under the guidelines set forth by administration due to Covid-19. All voting aye.

Motion by Breitling, second by Schroeder to approve the proposed school psychologist contract with Ted Williams for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Discussion on Junior High/Senior High grading procedures for the second semester.

Motion by Breitling, second by Hurd to approve weighting 60% for the third quarter grade and 40% for the fourth quarter grade in order to calculate the second semester grade for the Junior High/Senior High School students during the 2020 spring semester. All voting aye.

Motion by Breitling, second by Howard to enter into Executive Session for the express purpose of personnel and student issues SDCL 1-25-2 (1) & (2) at 7:30 p.m. All voting aye.

President Bertsch declared return to regular session at 8:28 p.m.

Minutes recorded by the Superintendent.

Motion by Yost, second by Howard to approve the certified contract for Sarah Black as Millerdale Colony Teacher with amount to be determined by the 2020-2021 negotiated agreement for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Schroeder to approve the non-certified temporary summer contract for Caleb Page as custodian in the amount of \$10.25 per hour for the time period of May 18, 2020 to August 7, 2020. All voting aye.

Motion by Howard, second by Breitling to approve the certified contract for Pamela Trautner as Special Education teacher with amount to be determined by the 2020-2021 negotiated agreement for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Yost to approve the certified contract for Samantha Ringling as Elementary teacher with amount to be determined by the 2020-2021 negotiated agreement for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Regular Meeting May 11, 2020 Page 3

Motion by Schroeder, second by Breitling to amend the certified contract for Kristina Luczak to include Oral Interp Advisor with the amount to be determined by the 2020-2021 negotiated agreement for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Howard to offer the part time custodial contract to Don Hofer for the 2020-2021 school year at \$15.30 per hour. All voting aye.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Yost to approve the presented certified and non-certified contracts for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Breitling, second by Hurd to accept the resignation of Cassidy Pohlen as SLPA at the conclusion of the 2019-2020 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Howard, second by Schroeder to accept the resignation of Travis Foreman as Head Junior High Football Coach at the end of the 2019-2020 school year and to approve his contract as Assistant Varsity Football Coach for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Breitling, second by Hurd to approve the certified contract for Emily VanGerpen as Elementary School Counselor with amount to be determined by the 2020-2021 negotiated agreement for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Howard to offer food service worker contacts to Charlene Beckett at the rate of \$20.00 per hour and Dawn Engelmann at the rate of \$22.00 per hour for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

The next regular school board meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, June 9, 2020 at 11:00 a.m. in the elementary school library. All voting aye.

Motion by Breitling, second by Yost to adjourn at 8:37 p.m. All voting aye.

Natalie	Bertsch	, Presi	dent	
Board o	of Educa	tion		
 Sara G	ates			